At the **ANNUAL MEETING of COUNCIL** held on Wednesday 16th May 2012 at the Town Hall, Wellington Road, Rhyl commencing at 6.00pm.

PRESENT

Councillor Mrs W. M. Mullen-James (Mayor)

Councillors I. A. Armstrong, B. Blakeley, Mrs J. Butterfield, Mrs J. Chamberlain-Jones, Mrs E. M. Chard, Ms D. Hannam, Ms J. Hughes, A. R. James, Mrs P. M. Jones, Mrs M. McCarroll, B. Mellor, B. F. Moylan, P. Prendergast, S. H. Ratcliffe, Miss S. L. Roberts, A. J. Rutherford, Miss R. Siddall, D. Simmons, W. N. Tasker, Miss C. L. Williams and P. J. Williams.

Mr G. J. Nickels - Town Clerk
Mr P. M. Thomas - Finance Officer

Miss H. J. Windus - Personal Assistant & Secretary

1. OPENING OF MEETING

In the absence of the Mayor's Chaplain, Rev. Prebendary John Glover, Rev. Stan Walker commenced proceedings by leading all present in Prayer. Rev. Walker remembered Glyn Pickering and Mrs Heather Leigh, both Members of this Council who had passed away this year.

2. <u>ELECTION OF MAYOR AND INSTALLATION</u>

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Mrs W. M. Mullen-James, thanked her Chaplain and Rev. Walker for their wonderful support over the last year.

Councillor Mullen-James also thanked her fellow Town Councillors and the Town Council's Officers for their invaluable support, along with her Consort and husband and now himself a Town Councillor, Mr Alan James.

Councillor Mullen-James spoke of some of the highlights of her year, of which there were many, how she and Alan had thoroughly enjoyed their time, and wished the incoming Mayor all the very best.

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2012/2013.

It was proposed by Councillor B. Blakeley, and seconded by Councillor Mrs M. McCarroll, that Councillor W. N. Tasker be elected.

<u>**RESOLVED**</u> that Councillor Tasker be elected Mayor of Rhyl for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

The retiring Mayor invested Councillor Tasker with the Chain of Office, and the Town Clerk invited the newly appointed Mayor to sign the Declaration of Office. This done, the newly elected Mayor took the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

The Mayor, thanked his proposer and seconder for their nominations and their kind wordsafter the Inaugural Dinner.

Councillor Tasker confirmed that his Consort for the coming year would be his partner and now fellow Town Councillor, Mr Pete Prendergast, and that Father Charles Ramsay had kindly accepted his request to be his Chaplain.

The retiring Mayor invested the newly appointed Mayor's Consort with the Badge of Office.

The Mayor thanked the retiring Mayor for representing the Town Council so brilliantly and with such dignity and enthusiasm and presented her with a large Town Crest, Civic Badge and flowers to mark her year in office.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the election of Deputy Mayor for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs E. M. Chard and seconded by Councillor Mrs J. Chamberlain-Jones that Councillor A. J. Rutherford be elected.

<u>**RESOLVED**</u> that Councillor Rutherford be elected Deputy Mayor of Rhyl for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

The Mayor invested Councillor Rutherford with the Chain of Office.

The Town Clerk invited the newly appointed Deputy Mayor to sign the Declaration of Office. This done, the Deputy Mayor thanked Members of the Council for their nominations and advised that his Consort would be his partner Mr James May.

The Mayor invested the newly appointed Deputy Mayor's Consort with the Badge of Office.

4. MINUTES

The Minutes of the following Meetings of Council and Committees were submitted for approval as a correct record:

Special Council - 18th April 2012 - Min. Nos. 107-110

Proposed by Councillor Mrs W. M. Mullen-James and seconded by Councillor B. Blakeley and *RESOLVED* as a correct record

Council - 18th April 2012 - Min. Nos. 111-118

Proposed by Councillor Mrs W. M. Mullen-James and seconded by Councillor A. J. Rutherford and *RESOLVED* as a correct record.

Planning - 18th April 2012 - Min. Nos. 78-81 Committee

Proposed by Councillor Mrs W. M. Mullen-James and seconded by Councillor Mrs E. M. Chard and **RESOLVED** as a correct record.

Special Finance & - 18th April 2012 - Min. Nos. 197-200 General Purposes

Committee

Proposed by Councillor B. Blakeley and seconded by Councillor Mrs P. M. Jones and *RESOLVED* as a correct record and confirmed for action.

5. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY FREEMAN OF THE TOWN

Further to Minute No.107 of the Special Meeting of Council held on 18th April 2012, the Mayor announced the appointment of Mr Roy Turner as the Town's first Honorary Freeman and was delighted to welcome Mr and Mrs Turner to the meeting.

The Mayor advised that the official presentation would take place at the meeting of Council to be held on 20th June 2012.

RESOLVED that the announcement be noted.

6. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR - FINANCE AND GENERAL PURPOSES</u> <u>COMMITTEE</u>

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor B. Blakeley and seconded by Councillor Mrs E. M. Chard that Councillor P. J. Williams be appointed

RESOLVED that Councillor P. J. Williams be elected Chairman of the Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

7. <u>ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR - FINANCE AND GENERAL PURPOSES</u> COMMITTEE

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs P. M. Jones and seconded by Councillor D. Simmons that Councillor Mrs M. McCarroll be appointed.

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs M. McCarroll be elected Vice-Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

8. ELECTION OF CHAIR – PLANNING COMMITTEE

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the Chair of the Planning Committee for the 2012/13 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor A. J. Rutherford and seconded by Councillor P. J. Williams that Councillor Mrs E. M. Chard be appointed.

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs E. M. Chard be elected Chair of the Planning Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

9. <u>ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR – PLANNING COMMITTEE</u>

In accordance with Council Policy on Annual Appointments (circulated with Agenda), the Mayor invited nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Planning Committee for the 2012/13 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs J. Chamberlain-Jones and seconded by Councillor Mrs J. Butterfield that Councillor Miss S. L. Roberts be appointed.

<u>**RESOLVED**</u> that Councillor Miss S. L. Roberts be elected Vice-Chair of the Planning Committee for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year.

10. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

The Mayor requested Members' confirmation of the Schedule of meetings for the 2012/2013 Municipal Year (circulated with Agenda).

RESOLVED that the Schedule be approved.

11. CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further items of business the Mayor declared the meeting of Council closed.

Mayor:	
Date:	